Locked Groups

Some functionality, like Image Analysis, is automatically added to the workflow as a group with a predefined set of steps. In those cases, you cannot change individual steps, only the whole group. Locked groups are displayed with a lock icon in the list on the Workflow tab and buttons or context menu entries are disabled, if the respective action cannot be performed for the selected step of the group.

You can group multiple steps of your workflow and define which outputs of the individual steps of the group are saved.

  1. You are on the Workflow tab and have opened a workflow, see Opening a Workflow.
  1. In the workflow list, select the entry after which you want to add the group, and click .
  2. The Workflow container on the right displays a view to select a step.
  3. Select the category Workflow.
  4. The available steps are displayed.
  5. For the Group entry, click Add. Alternatively, double click the entry.
  6. A group is added to the list and is displayed.
  7. You can now add steps and tools inside the group as described for the workflow creation, see Creating a Workflow. When adding the first step of the group, you have to select the Group entry in the workflow list before clicking . For all subsequent steps of the group, you must not select the Group entry when adding it. You have to select an entry inside the group.
  8. You have added steps and tools inside your group.
  9. To a pause at a step during a workflow run, right click the step in the list. By default, each newly added step is set to run automatically.
  10. The context menu is displayed.
  11. Select Add Pause Marker.
  12. A pause marker is added to the step.
  13. To define which output of the group's steps should be kept, you need the Define Output tool. Select the Group entry in the list, go to the step on the right, and click +Tool.
  14. The Workflow container on the right displays all tools available for this step.
  15. Double click the Define Outputs entry.
  16. The Define Outputs tool is added to the Group step.
  17. In the tool, activate the checkbox for each step where the output should be saved.
  18. You have defined a group in your workflow. All steps of the group are displayed below the Group entry in the list and the view can be minimized with the expander arrow of the Group entry.