Saving changes
By default, pipeline operations do not typically make any changes to the pixel values in the image data, but this is not the only piece of information that is stored with the SIS file. Along with the SIS file we also have a metadata file that includes several additional bits of information pertaining to the image, including the pipelines we used on that document. When we close the document we are prompted to save our changes, this includes any modification to the pipeline, and the objects we created with it. It is therefore important to save those changes so we don't need to rebuild the pipeline and run the segmentation every time we want to inspect the results.
Saving the document when we close it means we can review the pipelines and segmented objects when we next open the image, but we can also export the pipeline for use with other images and sharing with other users. Exporting a pipeline is done from the Analysis Panel's hamburger menu: